Esmeralda Yazmin Rosales Gomez
Ref# ZA4547

About Me
My name is Esmeralda Yazmin Rosales Gomez. I'm a 12-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 31, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4547

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Esmeralda Yazmin Rosales Gomez. I was born on May 31, 2007.  I was born with Down’s Syndrome. I walk about 15 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and one sister.  My father’s name is Jose and he works as guard at a school.  My mother’s name is Ines and she works as a domestic employee.  Our house is divided into two rooms.  The front is adobe and the rest is cement block.  The floor is granite.  We have a separate kitchen that is made of lamina.  We have electricity and water for washing.  We buy our drinking water.  My family does not travel to the coast to work as many families do. I do not go to school, so I spend my time playing with dolls and watching television.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the dog.  The food that I like the best is caldo de pollo (traditional chicken soup made with vegetables).  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Esmeralda Yazmin Rosales Gomez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary