Angela Veronica Luis Calel
Ref# PT0055

About Me
My name is Angela Veronica Luis Calel. I'm a 5-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 7, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PT0055                                     

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Angela Veronica Luis Calel.  I was born on May 7. 2014 and I am five years old.  I am a healthy child and I walk about 45 minutes to get to the program.  I have one brother and one sister.  My father’s name is Rigoberto and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast to cut cane.  My mother’s name is Maria and she is a housewife, and sometimes, she weaves typical items.  She also has some domestic animals such as sheep, hens and pigs that she sells when they are grown.  We do not own the house we are living in.  It belongs to my aunt.  The house has five rooms made of block with a concrete floor.  The roof is constructed in such a way that an additional level could be added later on.  The kitchen is separate.  It is made of adobe with a tin roof and a concrete floor.  We have water and electricity.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the butterfly.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and fried chicken.  My family attends a Charismatic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Angela Veronica Luis Calel

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary