Gender Male
Birth Date Apr 15, 2014
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country



Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Juan Simaj Ponce.  I was born on April 15, 2014 and I am 4 years old.  I am in good health, and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III. My father’s name is Victor, but sadly, he abandoned my family about four years ago.  He went to the United States and now has another family there.  My mother’s name is Juana and she sometimes travels to the coast to work.  My grandfather also travels to the coast to work.  He is the one who is responsible for our household expenses.  He also works in Guatemala City carrying packages and bundles for other people.  My family lives in the house with my grandparents.  The house is adobe with a tin roof and cement floor.  The house has two rooms and a separate kitchen that is made of plasterboard.  We do not have electricity or running water.  We use candles for lighting, and we carry our water from the river.  I have 2 brothers, and we walk to the feeding program with either my mother or my grandmother.  I do not go to school yet because I am to small, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is red, and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The foods that I like to eat the most are eggs with black beans and bananas.  My family attends a church called “Prince of Peace”.


With much love and many blessings,

Juan Simaj Ponce

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options