Seldes Isaias


Gender Male
Birth Date Dec 01, 2013
Age 5 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0006

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Seldes Isaías García de la Cruz.  I was born on December 1, 2013 and I am five years old.  I am in good health and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III.  My father’s name is Agustin and he is a farmer.  My mother’s name is Herminia and she is a housewife.  My family travels to the coast to work in the coffee harvest each year.  We own the home in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  The house has one room and a separate kitchen.  We have running water, but we do not have electricity.  We have a few domestic animals such as: chickens, one pig and a dog.  I have 2 brothers and 3 sisters.  My mother is the one who brings me to the feeding program.  I do not go to school yet because I am still too young, so I spend my time playing ball.  My favorite color is red, and my favorite animals are sheep.  The foods that I like to eat the most are eggs, soup and bananas.  Currently, my family does not attend any Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Seldes Isaías Garcia de la Cruz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00