Ana Gabriela Hernandez Montezuma
Ref# JT2484

About Me
My name is Ana Gabriela Hernandez Montezuma. I'm 14 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 15, 2005.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2484

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Ana Gabriela Hernandez Montezuma. I was born on February 15, 2005 and I am 14 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program.  My father’s name is Hugo Ramiro Hernandez Colaj and he works in a place where they sell cement blocks. My mother’s name is Ana Isabel Montezuma and she works in the local municipality, she works sweeping the streets. We rent the house that we live in. It is made of tin with a cement floor. We have only one room with a separate kitchen that has dirt floor and a separate bathroom. We have water and electricity. My mother works to help cover the family expenses because my maternal grandmother and my three cousins live with us. My cousins are teenagers and they are studying. I have to walk about 10 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have two brothers.  I am in 8th grade this year. In my free time, I like to paint and to draw. My favorite color is light blue, and my favorite animal is the dog. The food that I like to eat the most is chicken stew. My family attends a catholic church.

 

With much love and many blessings,

Ana Gabriela Hernandez Montezuma

 

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary