Karla Nicol Aguilar Ortega
Ref# DU2447

About Me
My name is Karla Nicol Aguilar Ortega. I'm a 10-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 16, 2012.
Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire). The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports. Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs. Electricity is available to those who can afford it. Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing. Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider education of value. Life in Dueñas is quiet and sometimes difficult.

My name is Karla Nicol Aguilar Ortega. I was born on January 16, 2012. I am a 10-year old girl. I am in third grade at school. I enjoy playing dolls in my spare time. I love the color purple. My favorite animal is the rabbit. I love to eat noodles. My family and I are in good health. My father´s name is Erick Alexander Aguilar Callejas. He works hard to support our family; he is a bricklayer helper. My mother´s name is Gladys Marleni Ortega Lopez, and she a housewife. I have only one brother. We rent the house in which we live; there are 2 rooms, but there is no kitchen, and my mother cooks outside of the rooms. The house is made entirely of tin sheets with a concrete floor. The monthly rent is Q300 = $40. We have water and electricity services, and my mother pays for them every month. I live 10 minutes away from the feeding program. I am so excited to be registered in the program. We do not attend church for now. At home, our priority needs are groceries. I thank you for taking the time to read my personal information.

Many hugs with much love,

Karla Nicol Aguilar Ortega

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua