Miguel Arcangel Garcia Chingo
Ref# ZA4665

About Me
My name is Miguel Arcangel Garcia Chingo. I'm a 13-year-old.

My birthday is
August 3, 2009.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small town tradesmen. It also has a large open air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high and the children are very needy.

Hello! How are you? My name is Miguel Arcangel Garcia Chingo.  I was born on August 3, 2009, and I am 12 years old. I am a healthy boy, and I am in fifth grade this year; due to the pandemic, I only receive classes for three hours on Tuesday. I enjoy playing soccer and watching TV in my free time. I love red, and I like rabbits. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have two brothers and two sisters. I live about 20 minutes away from the feeding program; I walk to the program with my cousins, or I take a microbus to get there. We are part of the Catholic Church, and we attend the mass on Sunday.  

My father’s name is Alberto Garcia Gomez, and he works as a farmer and day laborer. My mother’s name is Elvira Chingo Tino, and she sews blouses to help with the home income. We live in our own house which is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and concrete floor; it has three rooms and one kitchen. We have running water and electricity. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

Kisses and hugs

Miguel Arcangel Garcia Chingo

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua