Cesar Francisco Mejia Otoy
Ref# DU2354

About Me
My name is Cesar Francisco Mejia Otoy. I'm a 9-year-old.

My birthday is
September 21, 2013.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire). The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider education of value.  Life in Dueñas is quiet and sometimes difficult.

My name is Cesar Francisco Mejia Otoy, and I am nine years old. I was born on September 21, 2013. I am in good health. My father works hard as a farmer in our town, and he supplies our needs. My mother does the household chores and takes care of us. I have one brother. We attend the Catholic Church. I am in the second grade at school. In my free time, I like to play football and paint. My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the lion. I love to eat chow main. We live in my mother´s house, and it is made of block walls, tin sheet roof and concrete floor. We have one room and a kitchen. There is running water and electricity at home; my father goes to pay for these services at the Municipality. Our pet is a dog. Our needs are constructions materials, and we pray for God to help us. My brother and I walk about fifteen minutes to attend the feeding program.

Hugs and many blessings,

Cesar Francisco Mejia Otoy

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua