Adriana Petronila Luis Ildefonso
Ref# PT0056

About Me
My name is Adriana Petronila Luis Ildefonso. I'm a 8-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 5, 2010.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PT0056                                     

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Adriana Petronila Luis Ildefonso.  I was born on October 5, 2010 and I am nine years old.  I am a healthy child and I walk about five minutes to get to the program.  I have only one brother.  My father’s name is Simeon and he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Juana and she is a housewife.  We own the house in which we live.  It has four rooms and a separate kitchen.  The house is made of cement block with a concrete floor, and the roof is constructed in such a way that an additional level could be added later on.  We have some hens, pigs, cows and sheep that we sell when we have a need.  We have water and electricity.  I am in 2nd grade.  My favorite color is yellow and my favorite animals are baby chicks.  The foods that I like best are bananas and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to play tag or soccer and to play with my dolls.  My family attends a Charismatic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Adriana Petronila Luis Ildefonso

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary