Edy Eduardo Marroquin Perez
Ref# JT2507

About Me
My name is Edy Eduardo Marroquin Perez. I'm a 13-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 8, 2006.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2507

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Edy Eduardo Marroquin Perez. I was born on September 8, 2006 and I am 12 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program.  My father’s name is Nicolas Marroquin Aguilar and he works as a farmer at ¨La Salinas¨ Farm. My mother’s name is Gladis Amanda Perez Valenzuela and she is a housewife. She dedicates her time to taking care of my siblings and me. My oldest sister works as a babysitter for another family and contributes for the expenses. We own our home. It has two rooms made of tin with a tin roof and cement floor. We have another small place where we cook our food. We have electricity and water. We also have a separate bathroom. I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have 3 brothers and 2 sisters. I am in 5th grade this year and in my free time, I love to play soccer.  My favorite color is black, and my favorite animal is the dog.  My favorite food is Pepian (a traditional Guatemalan dish). My family attends a Christian church called “New Life in Christ”.

With much love and many blessings,

Edy Eduardo Marroquin Perez

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary