Nelson Noe


Gender Male
Birth Date Jan 11, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0005

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Nelson Noe Grave Luis.  I was born on January 11, 2015 and I am 4 years old.  I am in good health and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III.  My father’s name is Tomas and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest.  My mother’s name is Bacilia and she is a housewife.  Sometimes, she goes with my father to work at the coast.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  It has two rooms and a separate kitchen.  We do not have electricity or running water.  We use candles for lighting, and we get our water from the river with a water hose.  Sometimes, my siblings and I travel to the coast with my parents when they go to work at the end of the year.  My family has a few chickens and a dog.  I have 4 brothers and 2 sisters.   My oldest sister walks with me to the feeding program.  I do not go to school yet because I am still too young, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars and my ball.  My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the dove.  The foods that I like to eat the most are rice with potatoes and pineapples.  My family attends a church called “Door of Salvation”.

With much love and many blessings,

Nelson Noe Grave Luis

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00