Dulcida Karina Calachij de la Cruz
Ref# CH4155

About Me
My name is Dulcida Karina Calachij de la Cruz. I'm a 10-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 1, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CH4155

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small-attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello! My name is Dulcida Karina Calachij de la Cruz. I attend the Chixocol feeding program. I was born on November 01st, 2008. I am ten years old and I am in good health. I am attending first grade at school. In my free time, I like to play with dolls. My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the cat. I love to eat fried chicken. I have two brothers and five sisters. Sadly, my father Jacinto passed away one year ago due to an illness. Now, my mother Rosa is the one who struggles to support us by working as a maid. We live in our own concrete block house with a tin sheet roof and cement floors. There are three rooms and a separate kitchen with electricity. We get the water off from a well. We attend a Pentecostal church.

With much love and many blessings,

Dulcida Karina Calachij de la Cruz

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval/ AAC Secretary