Ericka Maritza Mucia Riz
Ref# CH4173

About Me
My name is Ericka Maritza Mucia Riz. I'm 7 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 23, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CH4173

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small-attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello! My name is Ericka Maritza Mucia Riz. I attend the Chixocol feeding program. I was born on May 23rd, 2012. I am six years old and I am in good health. I am attending kindergarten at school. In my free time, I like to play with dolls. My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the chicks. I love to eat fried chicken. I have one brother and two sisters. My father Virgilio works both as a farmer and as day laborer in order to support us. My mother Juana is a housewife. As a family, we all travel to the coast to pick coffee beans every year for about three months. We do not own a house so we live with my paternal grandparents and share the expenses as well. The house has two rooms and it is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof, dirt floors, electricity but no running water. We get the water off from a nearby spring. We also have some domestic animals like chickens. We attend a Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Ericka Maritza Mucia Riz

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval/ AAC Secretary