Tereso Armando Chingo Grave
Ref# PT0171

About Me
My name is Tereso Armando Chingo Grave. I'm a 8-year-old.

My birthday is
April 20, 2015.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town. The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common. The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night. Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors. Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.

My name is Tereso Armando Chingo Gravez, and I am 7 years old. I was born on April 20, 2015. I attend school, and I am in 1st grade. I enjoy playing football. My favorite color is green, and I love the dog. The food that I like the most is fried chicken. I live only with my mother and my three brothers. Sadly, my father passed away some months ago due to a sickness. My mother is the only one who works to support our family. She washes clothes for our neighbors, makes tortillas for others and takes care of sheep. Thank God, we keep in good health. We do not attend any church. We live in a house which is owned by my father. However, my grandparents and uncles also live there. There are four rooms and a separate kitchen made of adobe walls, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have running water and electricity. My grandfather pays for these services. My mother shares the home expenses with my grandparents and uncles. At home, there are many chickens. Our basic need is groceries. I live about 40 minutes from the Feeding Program.

Many greeting with much love,

Tereso Armando Chingo Gravez

Translated by: Lucia Gravez, AAC Secretary Antigua