Juan Efrain Ris Morente
Ref# PA2090

About Me
My name is Juan Efrain Ris Morente. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
December 15, 2015.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

My name is Juan Efrain Ris Morente, and I am 6 years old. I was born on August 31st in Zacualpa Quiche.  I like to go to the feeding program, and I usually walk with my siblings for 1 hour to be there. I am not enrolled at school since I am still young. My hobbies are playing soccer and marbles. My favorite color is red, and my favorite animal is the cat. I enjoy eating almost everything.  I have one brother and one sister. Sadly, my father abandoned our family 7 years ago. My mother takes care of us and the house. She sustains us by traveling to the coast for 3 months for the coffee harvest. Meanwhile, we stay under the care of my grandparents. We live with my maternal grandparents in a humble house that has 3 rooms and a separate kitchen. My mother and grandparents share the expenses since we do not pay any rent. We only use one room. The house is made of adobe walls, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. There is electricity and running water that my grandfather pays. We have some chickens at home. At the moment, we are not members of any church, but maybe in the future, my family will make the decision to attend one. Thankfully, we are a healthy family, but as many others, we also have necessities to cover like corn, food and shoes. I am grateful to have this opportunity to be part of the feeding program and to be blessed by God through you. Take care!

Best regards,

Juan Efrain Ris Morente

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval, AAC Secretary / Antigua