Domingo Jeremias Ruiz Garcia
Ref# CA1799

About Me
My name is Domingo Jeremias Ruiz Garcia. I'm a 9-year-old.

My birthday is
January 3, 2014.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system. 

It is a great pleasure to say hello to you through this letter. I hope you are receiving many blessings from God. My name is Domingo Jeremias Ruiz Garcia, and I am a happy and healthy 8-year-old boy. I am in first grade this year. In my free time, I like to help take care of the chickens at home. My favorite color is green, my favorite animal is a cow, and my favorite food is fried chicken.

Only one of my biological parents live with me. My father works as a farmer to take care of our needs. My mother passed away 2 years ago due to a tumor in her stomach. I have a stepmother and she is a hardworking housewife and takes care of me. I have no siblings. I am joyful to say that we are all healthy, and God has taken good care of us. Also, we attend a Christian church. I live in a village called Chuchuca, and it takes me 1 hour to walk to the feeding center. My humble house has walls made of adobe, the roof is made of tile, and the floor is made of dirt. There are two rooms and a separate kitchen. We share this space with my grandparents. We also raise hens. We have neither running water, plumbing for a bathroom, nor electricity at home. We obtain water from a nearby natural water source, use the bathroom outside in a field, and we see at night using solar energy. The house is owned by my grandfather, and he allows us to live here rent free. Our greatest need is groceries. May God continue blessing you!

The Living Waters Evangelism Team is speaking to families in Quiche by phone call. They spoke to my father to receive information pertaining to me.

Lots of hugs,

Domingo Jeremias Ruiz Garcia

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / AAC Missionary Intern