Alex Jimon Calachij
Ref# PT0062

About Me
My name is Alex Jimon Calachij. I'm a 6-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 2, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PT0062                                     

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Alex Jimon Calachij.  I was born on December 2, 2012 and I am seven years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have four sisters and two brothers.  Two of them also attend the feeding program and we walk 30 minutes to get to the program.  My father’s name is Pedro and he works as a cargador (person who carries heavy packages or bundles for other people) in Guatemala City.  He comes home to see us once a month and leaves money for our expenses.  My mother’s name is Hilaria and she is a housewife and also takes care of my siblings and me.  Our house is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have water but we do not have electricity.  We use candles for lighting.    My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the baby chick.  The food that I like best is fried chicken.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing ball with my brothers.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Alex Jimon Calachij

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary