Osvaldo Leonel Riz Gomez
Ref# ZA4542

About Me
My name is Osvaldo Leonel Riz Gomez. I'm a 4-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 19, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4542

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Osvaldo Leonel Riz Gomez.  I was born on December 19, 2014.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 30-40 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I do not have any brothers or sisters.  My father’s name is Camilo and he is a mason’s helper.  My mother’s name is Estela and she takes care of our home.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have water, but we do not have electricity.  We use candles for lighting.  The house has one room and a separate kitchen.  My family travels to the coast to work in the coffee harvest at the end of the year.  We have some hens, ducks, turkeys and dogs.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is black and my favorite animal is the duck.  The foods that I like best are bananas, soup and chicken.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Osvaldo Leonel Riz Gomez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary