Sabino Alexander Grave Mejia
Ref# PT0067

About Me
My name is Sabino Alexander Grave Mejia. I'm 6 years old.

My birthday is
June 4, 2013.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


My Story


Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Sabino Alexander Grave Mejia.  I was born on June 4, 2013 and I am six years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have one brother and two sisters.  I walk about one hour to get to the feeding program here at Pasojoc III and I walk about two hours to get to the program at Pasojoc I on Saturdays.  My father’s name is Jose and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast to work cutting cane.  He comes home, and then we all go to the coast to work in the coffee harvest at the end of the year.  My mother’s name is Lucia and she is a housewife.  She also takes care of our domestic animals.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  It has two rooms and a separate kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing soccer or playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are oranges and beef patties.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Sabino Alexander Grave Mejia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary