Victor Manuel Garcia Riz
Ref# CH4305

About Me
My name is Victor Manuel Garcia Riz. I'm a 3-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 17, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Victor Manuel Garcia Riz.  I was born on October 17, 2015.  I am a heathy child and I walk about 25 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and one sister.  My father’s name is Manuel and my mother’s name is Gregoria.  They have been separated for about six months.  We have communication with my father and sometimes he helps with our expenses.  My mother takes care of our house and she also raises hens and sells them when they are grown. In addition to that, she washes clothes for other people to earn money for our expenses.  My older brother takes care of us, when my mother goes to work.  We own our own home.  It is made of adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor.  The house has two rooms.  We have water and electricity.  I am in kindergarten, and in my free time, I like to play with my toy cars and to watch television.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the sheep.  The foods that I like best are papaya and fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Victor Manuel Garcia Riz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary