Luis Andre Noriega Velasquez
Ref# CH4302

About Me
My name is Luis Andre Noriega Velasquez. I'm 7 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 1, 2013.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Luis Andre Noriega Velasquez.  I was born on February 1, 2013.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 5 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and one sister.  We own the house in which we live.  It has four rooms and a kitchen.  The house is made of cement block with a granite floor.  We have electricity and water.  My mother’s name is Ingrid and she is a teacher and takes care of our home.  My father’s name is Luis and he is also a teacher.  We have some cows, hens and a dog.  I am in kindergarten, and in my free time, I like to play soccer and with my toy cars.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are melon and fish.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Luis Andre Noriega Velasquez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary