Luis Fernando Chum Guaran
Ref# DU2105

About Me
My name is Luis Fernando Chum Guaran. I'm 5 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 8, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

DU-2105

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire).  The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Life in Dueñas is quiet.

Hello, my name is Luis Fernando Chum Guaran.  I was born on May 8, 2014 and I am four years old.  I am in good health.  I attend the Duenas feeding program.  My mother’s name is Lesbia Liliana Guaran Pamal.  She does not work outside our home but stays home to care for my siblings and me and for our home.  My father’s name is Luis Amilcar Chum Ventura, and he is a farmer.  We own our home.  It is a one room home made of tin sheet walls and a tin sheet roof with dirt floor.  All of my family lives in this one room, and we have a separate bathroom.  My mother’s parents live in the same location but in a different home.  We have water and electricity, and we share these expenses with my grandparents.  I walk one block to get to the feeding program.  I still do not go to school because I am too young.  I have one brother and one sister.  I am a very active little boy, and I love to play ball.  My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the cat.  My favorite thing to eat is black beans.  My family attends a catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Luis Fernando Chum Guaran

Translated by Edwina Lyons, Living Water Missionary