Sandra Alicia Ponce Utzoy
Ref# PT0001

About Me
My name is Sandra Alicia Ponce Utzoy and I'm a 6-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 12, 2013.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PT0001

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Sandra Alicia Ponce Utzoy.  I am in good health and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III.  My father’s name is Pedro and he works in Guatemala City carrying packages and bundles for other people.  He also travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest.  My mother’s name is Maria and she is a housewife.  She also takes care of my brother, Samuel, who has special needs.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor.  The house has two rooms with a separate kitchen.  The kitchen has tin sheet walls and a tin roof.  We do not have electricity nor running water.  We use candles for lighting.  We bring our water from the river.  I have 4 brothers and 4 sisters.  I walk to the feeding program with either my mother or my oldest sister.  I do not go to school yet because I am still small, so I spend my time playing soccer.  My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like to eat the most are watermelon and fried chicken.My family attends a church called “Prince of Peace”.

 

With much love and many blessings,

Sandra Alicia Ponce Utzoy

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary