Ana Xec Velasquez
Ref# WJT0009

About Me
My name is Ana Xec Velasquez. I'm a 44-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 17, 1975.
Sponsorship Type

Persons In Need

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello, my name is Ana Xec Velasquez.  I was born August 17, 1975 in Chimaltenango. I attend the Liberty Church in Jocotenango and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the church.  My husband’s name is Gregorio and he is 48 years old.  Actually he is not working right now.  He is taking care of our youngest son.  When he does work, it is usually farming for other people, and he only helps a little with the household expenses.  I have three children; two sons and one daughter. My son, Mario, is the oldest.  He is 17 years old and is studying in the 8th grade.  He works as a collaborator in the feeding programs in Jocotenango and Duenas.  He receives an offering for this work, but he does not help with any of the household expenses.  He uses his money for his own personal needs such as shoes, clothes and school supplies.  My daughter’s name is Dulce and she is 13 years old.  She is in the 7th grade this year, and she helps with the household chores.  My youngest son is Josue and he is 10 years old.  He is in the 4th grade and he also helps with the chores.  We have a small dog named Ambar.  We are thankful because all of my family is in good health. 

I work for the ministry making the tortillas that we serve at the feeding programs.  I get paid Q50 per day (less than $7).  I also wash and iron clothes for other people to earn extra money.  I am the only one who is responsible for all of our household expenses and for the school expenses for my youngest children.  Unfortunately, I never learned how to read or write.  We do not own our own home.  The house that we live in is rented. My three children attend the feeding program and my oldest son’s sponsor actually pays the rent for our home.  The house is made of cement block with a tin roof and a concrete floor.  We have running water and electricity which are included in the monthly rent.  The house has three rooms and a separate kitchen.  We cook with wood because we do not have a stove.  One of my dreams is to have a stove and a refrigerator someday.  My needs are for food and other basic necessities. 

Love and blessings,

Ana Xec Velasquez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary