Feliza


Gender Female
Birth Date Jan 13, 1942
Age 77 years old
Sponsorship Type
Elderly
Attends Program
DueƱas
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Hello, my name is Feliza Larios. 

I am a single mother/grandmother.  I am 77 years old.  I live in a community in Guatemala called Duenas.  I attend a catholic church, but I come to the Liberty Church campus for the monthly devotional/dinner.  I walk about 20 minutes from my house to the campus in Duenas.  I was born in Acatenango Guatemala in 1942.  I am actually a widow.  My husband died from alcoholism about 17 years ago.  I have a total of 3 children: one son and two daughters.  I live in the house with one of my daughters and her family.  My daughter provides me with my dinner each night.  Also, one of my grandsons helps me just a little bit with some money.  I am too old to work very much, so I basically stay home taking care of the house.  Sometimes, I go out to collect firewood for my own personal use and to sell in order to earn just a little bit of money to help my granddaughter buy her clothes.  Since, I do not have my own kitchen, I use the wood to build a small fire in my room for heating water for my bath.  The house I live in is owned by my daughter.  The house has 5 rooms and a separate kitchen, but I only have the one room.  Two of the rooms in the house have cement block walls.  Two rooms are part block and part tin.  The room I use has walls of cement block and wood.  One wall is actually cement block with stacked firewood on top of the blocks.  The roof is tin sheet metal and the floor in my room is dirt.  I have electricity and running water.  My daughter pays for these services. I do not have any domestic animals such as chickens because I do not have a place in which to keep them.

I am basically in good health for my age.   I do not really go to the doctor.  I only seek treatment at the medical campaigns when they have them close enough for me to go.  My only health complaint is that I suffer from pain in my knees especially when it is cold and damp, but I do not take any medication.   I have one little dog as my companion.  Her name is Daisy.  My most immediate needs are for blankets because it gets cold in my room.  Also, I need the wall completed in my room in order to keep out the rain and the cold air.  Basically, I am a joyful grandmother who smiles a lot because the Lord has been so good to me. 

Love and blessings,

Feliza Larios

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00