Esvin Alexander Ajqui Riz
Ref# TU2506

About Me
My name is Esvin Alexander Ajqui Riz. I'm 10 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 27, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello! How are you? I hope you are in good health. I am glad to greet you. I want to share with you a little about my family and me. I am living with my grandmother. She takes care of us and she helps my mother with the home expenses. My mother is working in a tortillas shop in Guatemala City. My grandmother is a weaver and my grandfather is in the United States but he does not help us economically. Sadly, my father passed away in an accident last year. I am older than my siblings. This year, I did not continue with my studies because my mother could not pay my school expenses. I was going to study 4th grade, but my mother said me that God willing, I will study next year. Thank God, we are in good health. My favorite subject was mathematics and I liked to play soccer with my friends.

My desire is to be a teacher. I help my grandmother to feed the hens. I like to play tag, toy cars and marbles with my brothers. In my free time, I like to watch TV. My father celebrated our birthdays, but now, my mother does not celebrate because she does not have enough money. For Christmas, we prepared ¨tamales and ponche¨ (typical dish and hot fruit drink) and we spent a good time together. When my mother comes home from the city, we go to church. The saddest moment for me was when my father passed away.  We felt so sad and the church brethren prayed for us. I ask for your prayers for my family especially for my mother so that God always takes care of her because she works far away. I say goodbye to you for now with much love. May God bless you!

Hugs and Kisses,

Esvin Alexander Ajqui Riz

Translated by: Esther Hernandez/AAC Secretary/Antigua