Joel Eliseo Uz Illescas
Ref# DU1751

About Me
My name is Joel Eliseo Uz Illescas. I'm a 17-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 31, 2004.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Dear Sponsor,

I am happy to update my personal information. I am Joel Eliseo Uz Illescas, and I am now 16 years old. This year, I am in seventh grade and I am receiving classes online. I receive study guides and videos through Whatsapp, and I send my homework through it every fifteen days. It has been difficult for me to study with this method because there are topics that I do not understand; when I have doubts, I ask my teacher. My stepfather works as a guard in Guatemala City and he covers our needs. My mother is a housewife and she sometimes does the laundry or irons clothes for others to help with the incomes.

The pandemic really affected our economy because my stepfather was unemployed for about one month and we did not have much money to buy food. However, we could see God’s faithfulness in our lives because He helped us to go ahead. We received grocery bags from the feeding program and they were a great blessing for us. I am very grateful to the Ministry for the support we received and I pray God blesses all those people who are part of it. Thank God, my family and I are in good health, and none of us has gotten Covid-19. We are not attending a church at the moment. I say goodbye to you for now hoping to hear from you soon.

Love and kind regards

Joel Eliseo Uz Illescas

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary-Antigua