Angili Lisbeth Ruiz Toj
Ref# ZA4828

About Me
My name is Angili Lisbeth Ruiz Toj. I'm a 5-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 18, 2018.
Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Mayans and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish. Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small, specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high, and the children are very needy.

Hello! My name is Angili Lisbeth Ruiz Toj and this is my story. Before telling you about it, I want you to know that my mom helped me to give all this information to a teacher of LW. I was born on August 17, 2018. I am in preschool and after school, I have fun riding my bike. My favorite color is blue, I love cats, and my favorite dish is rice with chicken. I only have one brother but no sisters. I live with him and my parents. My father’s name is Victor Manuel Ruiz Tzoc. He works as a day laborer, but his job is not stable. Therefore, he works in a brick factory for a few days. My mother’s name is Floricelda Toj Gonzalez. She is a housewife and helps my father with the expenses by carrying firewood. My mom suffers from ovarian cysts. Fortunately, she is under medical treatment. The rest of my family and I are in good health.

We attend Full Gospel Church. We live with my maternal grandfather in his house. My grandfather’s name is Lucas Toj. Some of my maternal uncles live there too. The house has three rooms and a small area to prepare our meals. The walls are made of bricks with a tile roof and concrete floors. There is electricity at home and my father pays for that service. We get water from a nearby river. My family is large; some of our greatest needs are groceries, especially corn. I attend the feeding program in Zacualpa. I usually walk for 20 from where I live to get there. I will leave you now, but I hope to hear from you soon.

Many kisses and hugs,

Angili Lisbeth Ruiz Toj

Translated by: Hillary Popol / AAC Secretary / Antigua Guatemala