Jelvin Elmer de La Cruz Pu
Ref# PA2012

About Me
My name is Jelvin Elmer de La Cruz Pu. I'm a 5-year-old.

My birthday is
January 17, 2017.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program


Program Country


My Story

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Jelvin Elmer de La Cruz Pu. I was born on January 17, 2017, and I am 4 years old. I am a healthy boy, and I do not attend school yet due to my age. I love playing with my toy cars and soccer. I love blue, and I like sheep. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have three brothers and four sisters. I live about 25 minutes away from the feeding program, and I always walk to the program accompanied by my mother. We are not attending church at the moment.

I am under the care of my parents. My father’s name is Andres De La Cruz Ajqui, and he works as a farmer and day laborer. My mother’s name is Olivia Pu Ruiz, and she is a housewife; she raises hens. My whole family goes to pick coffee beans at the coast for two months when it is the harvest season. We do not have our own house, so we live with my paternal grandparents, and they have given us one room. The house is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We share the kitchen and home expenses with my grandparents. We have running water and electricity. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

With much love

Jelvin Elmer De La Cruz Pu

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua