Erick Alfonso Garcia Pu
Ref# ZA4539

About Me
My name is Erick Alfonso Garcia Pu. I'm a 11-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 23, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Tunajá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4539

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Erick Alfonso Garcia Pu.  I was born on February 23, 2008.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and two sisters.  My father’s name is Bruno and he works as a farmer and sometimes as a day laborer.  My mother’s name is Marta and she is a housewife and takes care of our domestic animals.  Our house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We do not have water or electricity.  We use candles for lighting, and we get our drinking water from some of our relatives.  My family travels to the coast to work in the coffee harvest at the end of each year.  I am in the 4th grade, and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing soccer.  My favorite color is gray and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and black beans with eggs. 

With much love and many blessings,

Erick Alfonso Garcia Pu

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary