Selvin Ivan Garcia Pu
Ref# ZA4537

About Me
My name is Selvin Ivan Garcia Pu. I'm a 5-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 21, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4537

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Selvin Ivan Garcia Pu.  I was born on April 21, 2014.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and two sisters.  My father’s name is Bruno and he works as a farmer and sometimes as a day laborer.  My mother’s name is Marta and she is a housewife and takes care of our domestic animals.  Our house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We do not have water or electricity.  We use candles for lighting, and we get our drinking water from some of our relatives.  My family travels to the coast to work in the coffee harvest at the end of each year.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars and playing soccer.  I also like to sing.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are apples and rice. 

With much love and many blessings,

Selvin Ivan Garcia Pu

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary