Deisy Victoria Lares Coj
Ref# ZA4550

About Me
My name is Deisy Victoria Lares Coj. I'm a 8-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 2, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4550

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Deisy Victoria Lares Coj.  I was born on February 2, 2011.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 1 hour to get to the feeding program.  I have only one brother.  My father’s name is Pedro and he works as a farmer. He grows beans and corn for our own consumption My mother’s name is Paula and she is a housewife and she also sells refreshments at school.  We live in the house with my grandparents, and we share the expenses.  The house is made of adobe with a tile roof and a dirt floor.  It has three rooms and a kitchen.  In total, 13 people live in the house.  We have hens, pigs, dogs and cats.  We sell the hens and pigs when they are grown to have money for our expenses.  I am in 2nd grade and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing ball.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are oranges and grilled chicken.  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Deisy Victoria Lares Coj

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary