Angel Gustavo Cux Calachij
Ref# ZA4549

About Me
My name is Angel Gustavo Cux Calachij. I'm a 4-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 28, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4549

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Angel Gustavo Cux Calachij.  I was born on March 28,2015.  I am a healthy child and I walk about 10 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and two sisters.  Sadly, my mother passed away some time ago. Now, my father no longer lives with us.  He abandoned us about three years ago.  We actually live with my stepmother.  She takes care of us and provides for us.  She works in a local dining room to earn money for our expenses.  We rent the house in which we live, and we pay Q500 ($67) each month.  The house has three rooms and a separate kitchen.  It is made of bricks with a tile roof and a cement floor.  We have water and electricity.  My family has some hens, a dog and two cats.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is brown and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are bananas and beans with sausages.  My family attends a Christian church.

With much love and many blessings,

Angel Gustavo Cux Calachij

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary