Jose Geovany Velasquez de la Cruz
Ref# PT0053

About Me
My name is Jose Geovany Velasquez de la Cruz. I'm a 12-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 25, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PT0053                                     

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Jose Geovany Velasquez de la Cruz.  I was born on August 25, 2007 and I am twelve years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have one brother and one sister.  I walk about five minutes to get here to the feeding program at Pasojoc III, and I walk about 1 ½ hours to get to the program at Pasojoc I.  My father’s name is Nicolas.  Sadly, he abandoned us when I was about three years old, so never really knew him.  My mother’s name is Maria and she is the one who is struggling to provide for our family.  She is working at the coast.  While my mother is at the coast, we stay with my maternal grandparents.  My grandmother’s name is Tomasa.  Sometimes we also stay with my aunt Juana.  Occasionally, we do not have money to buy corn, so my aunt helps us my grandparents with a little money.  We share the house with my grandmother.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  The house has two rooms and a separate kitchen.  We do not have electricity or water.  We get our water from a natural water source with a hose.  I am repeating 1st grade.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to play with my toy cars and to play soccer.  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

With much love and many blessings,                 

Jose Geovany Velasquez de la Cruz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary