Keyla Mishel Gomez Lopez
Ref# JT2518

About Me
My name is Keyla Mishel Gomez Lopez. I'm a 7-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 29, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2518

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Keyla Mishel Gomez Lopez. I was born on April 29, 2012 and I am seven years old.  I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Hector Arnoldo Gomez Lopez, but we do not have communication with him because has a problem with alcohol and does not live with us. My mother’s name is Reyna Isabel Lopez Gomez. She works taking care of lady who is sick here in Jocotenango. My grandmother takes care of me while my mother works. We live with my grandmother and we rented her a room. It is made of tin sheet metal and wood with a cement floor. We have electricity and water. I walk about 25 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have only one brother. I am in the first grade this year. After school, I like to play with my dolls and play tag with my brother. My favorite colors are purple and blue, and my favorite animals are the cow and the tiger. I like to eat all kinds of food but some of my favorites are: pizza, chicken, french fries and apples. Currently, my family does not attend a church. 

With much love and many blessings,

Keyla Mishel Gomez Lopez

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary