Angelica Marleny Jorge Ortiz
Ref# CH4290

About Me
My name is Angelica Marleny Jorge Ortiz. I'm a 4-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 11, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Angelica Marleny Jorge Ortiz.  I was born on March 11, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I travel about 30 minutes by bus to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and seven sisters.  My father’s name is Sebastian and he works as a farmer. He also travels to the coast to work cutting cane from May to November.  My mother’s name is Isabel and she takes care of our home.  We own the house in which we live.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tile roof and dirt floor.  We have water and electricity.  We raise chickens and sell them when they are grown to raise money for our expenses.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my stuffed animals.  My favorite color is green and my favorite animal is the baby chick.  The foods that I like the best are bananas, pineapples, mangoes and fried chicken.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Angelica Marleny Jorge Ortiz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary