Nicolasa


Gender Female
Birth Date Dec 17, 1944
Age 74 years old
Sponsorship Type
Elderly
Attends Program
Jocotenango
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Hello, my name is Nicolasa Gomez Acajaban. 

I live in Jocotenango about a 20-minute walk away from the feeding program.  I was born in Antigua in 1944, and I am 74 years old.  I completed 2nd grade, so I am able to write and to read, but it is very slowly.  I am a single mother.  I have one daughter and one granddaughter who also has a family.   She has two sons.  All three of us are single mothers.  We all live together in a house that we rent for Q700 per month (a little less than $100).  We also pay for running water and electricity as they are not included in our rent.  Our house is made of cement block with a tin roof and a concrete floor.  It has two rooms including the kitchen.  We all sleep in one room where we have 2 large beds and one small one.  We use the other room where we have our stove as the kitchen.  I earn money by selling products from catalogs. My daughter, Ana, takes care of our house.  My granddaughter, Paola, washes and irons clothes for people in order to earn money to help pay the household expenses.

I suffer from diabetes and from high blood pressure.  I try to control my diabetes with my diet.  I take medicines for my blood pressure.  I ask for your prayers that God would provide a stable job for my daughter and myself.  Also, I need prayers for my health to improve and that God will continue taking care of my family.

Love and blessings,

Nicolasa Gomez Acajabon

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00