Alison Daniela Pu Barrera
Ref# JT2517

About Me
My name is Alison Daniela Pu Barrera. I'm a 5-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 20, 2013.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2517

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Alison Daniela Pu Barrera. I was born on November 20, 2012 and I am 6 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Armando Pu Ixcotoyac, and he works selling nuts in the streets of different areas such as Antigua, Guatemala City, Panajachel and Peten. My mother’s name is Marta Barrera Tayum and she works by doing washing and ironing for other people. My family originally lived in the mountains of Quiche, Guatemala. We rent one room in a building, and we actually cook in the hall. Our house is made of cement block with a tin roof and cement floor. We live on the second level of the building. We have electricity and water. I walk for about 20 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have 1 brother and 3 sisters. I have never gone to school. My favorite thing to do is to play with my dolls and toy dishes and play food. My favorite color is white, and my favorite animals are doves and cats. The foods that I like to eat the most are eggs and pepian (a traditional Guatemalan dish). Currently, my family does not attend a church. 

 

With much love and many blessings,

Alison Daniela Pu Barrera

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary