Xarlin Sara Garcia Morales
Ref# CH4194

About Me
My name is Xarlin Sara Garcia Morales. I'm 5 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 21, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CH4194

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world. Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen. The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks. In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare. Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value. Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Xarlin Sara Garcia Morales. I was born on July 21, 2014 and I am four years old. I am in good health and I attend the Chixocol feeding program. My father’s name is Alfredo Garcia Chan and he works as a farmer. My mother’s name is Manuela Morales Riquiac and she is a housewife. We live in a rented two-room house with a separate kitchen. Our house is adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor. We have our own water and electricity. My family travels to coast for two months each year to work during the coffee harvest. We do not have any animals at our home. I have 2 brothers and 1 sister. My mother is the one who takes me to the feeding program. I am not in school yet because I am too young. I love to play with my dolls and my toy dishes. My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the dog. The foods that I like to eat the most are chicken and watermelon. My family attends a Methodist church.

With much love and many blessings,

Xarlin Sara Garcia Morales

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary