Carlos Daniel Tuluxan Mejia
Ref# JT2511

About Me
My name is Carlos Daniel Tuluxan Mejia. I'm 5 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 13, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2511

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Carlos Daniel Tuluxan Mejia. I was born on November 13, 2014 and I am 4 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Priciliano Tuluxan Lopez and he works as an ice cream vendor on the streets in Jocotenango. My mother’s name is Maria Mejia Ixcoy, and she works in a ¨tortilleria¨ (a place where tortillas are made for selling). Both of them work hard to cover the household expenses. We live in a 1 room rented house made of tin with the kitchen in the same room.  We have a separate bathroom. We have electricity and water. I have 1 brother and 2 sisters. I still do not go to school because I am too young. I love to play ball and toy cars.  My favorite color is yellow, and my favorite animals are cats. The foods that I like the most are chicken, soup and sausages. Currently, my family does not attend a church.

With much love and many blessings,

Carlos Daniel Tuluxan Mejia

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary