Jose Adrian Coj Gutierrez
Ref# TU2923

About Me
My name is Jose Adrian Coj Gutierrez. I'm a 5-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 31, 2016.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Tunajรก

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Tunaja is a very primitive area of the state of Quiche, Guatemala. The inhabitants are Quiche Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiche. The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system. Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it. Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area. Life in Tunaja is extremely difficult.

Hello! I am excited to be writing this letter just for you! My name Jose Adrian Coj Gutierrez.  I am 5 years old, and I was born on October 31, 2016. I live in a town called Tunaja. My father’s name is Josue Coj Ajqui, and my mother’s name is Lucia Gutierrez de la Cruz. I have no brothers and 1 sister. I do not attend school yet because of my age. In my free time, I like to play soccer. My favorite color is red, my favorite animals are goats and chickens, and my favorite dish is eggs with beans. My mother gave the evangelism team my information over the phone because of COVID-19; they are avoiding as much physical contact as possible to keep everyone safe. Our house belongs to my paternal grandparents. The house is made of adobe, there is a shingle roof, and the floor is made of dirt and concrete. We have access to water through a well and we have electricity. Our bathroom is connected to a cesspit. There are 3 rooms and a separate kitchen. We do not share a room with them, but we share the kitchen and split the costs of utilities. My father travels to the coast and works there as a contractor. My father is my grandfather’s assistant. They travel to supervise people. When my father is in town, he works as a laborer. As for my health, thank God, I am healthy. I am a member of a Methodist church. We attend service on Thursdays and Sundays. I am grateful for God’s love and mercy in my life.

With lots of love,

Jose Adrian Coj Gutierrez

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern