Juan Alexander Morente de la Cruz
Ref# TU2883

About Me
My name is Juan Alexander Morente de la Cruz. I'm 4 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 26, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Tunajá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

TU2883

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché.  The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it.  Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

Hello, my name is Juan Alexander Morente de la Cruz.  I was born on June 26, 2015.  I am a healthy child.  I have one brother and one sister who also attend the feeding program and we walk about 30 minutes to get to the program.  My father’s name is Juan and he works as a farmer and a day laborer.  He also travels to the coast to work in the coffee harvest for two months.  My mother’s name is Isabel and she is a housewife.  She also raises hens.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of cement block with a tile and tin roof and a concrete floor.  It has three rooms and a separate kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are bananas and rice.  My family attends Prince of Peace church.

With much love and many blessings,

Juan Alexander Morente de la Cruz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary