Ashley Ester Grave Barrientos
Ref# ZA4531

About Me
My name is Ashley Ester Grave Barrientos. I'm a 8-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 3, 2010.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4531

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Ashley Ester Grave Barrientos.  I was born on November 3, 2010.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 10 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have only one sister.  We live with my grandparents.  My mother’s name is Lidia and she is a housewife.  My father’s name is Hector and he is an assistant accountant.  Our house has two levels.  It is made of brick with a ceramic tile floor on the 1st level and cement block with a cement floor on the 2nd level.  We have water and electricity.  The house has six rooms and a kitchen.  We buy the water that we use for drinking and cooking.  My parents and grandparents split the household expenses.  My family does not travel to the coast as many families do.  I am in 2nd grade.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are mangoes and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to play dolls, to color and to make outfits for my dolls.  My family attends an Evangelical church.


With much love and many blessings,

Ashley Ester Grave Barrientos

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary