Rosa Maria Garcia Luis
Ref# CA1777

About Me
My name is Rosa Maria Garcia Luis. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
December 8, 2015.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system. 

I fondly greet you through this letter hoping you are doing great with your loved ones. My name is Rosa Maria Garcia Luis, and I am a happy and healthy 6-year-old girl. I am in kindergarten this year. In my free time, I like to play with my dolls and pretend-kitchen. My favorite color is red, my favorite animal is a bunny, and my favorite food is fried chicken.

Both of my biological parents live with me. My father works as a farmer or day laborer and travels to the coast to harvest coffee or cane to take care of our needs. My mother is a hardworking housewife. I have three siblings: 2 brothers and 1 sister. I am joyful to say that we are all healthy, and God has taken good care of us. Also, we attend Prince of Peace Church. I live in a village called Chuchuca, and it takes me 20 minutes to walk to the feeding center. My humble house has walls made of adobe, the roof is made of tile, and the floor is made of dirt. There are two rooms total with only one in use, and a separate kitchen made of wood. We are sharing this space with my paternal grandparents. We do not have running water, but we do have electricity at home. We obtain water by connecting a water hose to a natural water source. My parents and grandparents take turns paying for the electricity. The house is owned by my paternal grandmother and allows us to live with her rent free. Our greatest need is groceries. Please, take care of yourself and I hope to hear from you soon. Many blessings!

The Living Waters Evangelism Team is speaking to families in Quiche by phone call. They spoke to my mother to receive information pertaining to me.

Kind regards and blessings,

Rosa Maria Garcia Luis

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / AAC Missionary Intern