Ingrid Liliana Estrella Ajqui
Ref# ZA4519

About Me
My name is Ingrid Liliana Estrella Ajqui. I'm a 10-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 16, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4519

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Ingrid Liliana Estrella Ajqui.  I was born on October 16, 2008.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 45 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother who also attends the program.  My mother’s name is Dominga and she is a domestic employee.  She works hard to provide for us.  Sadly, our father abandoned us about five years ago.  We do not have any communication with him.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of adobe with a tile roof and a cement floor.  The house has two rooms and we use one of those as a kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  We own some hens and pigs.  When my mother is working, I stay with my aunt after school.  I am in 4th grade.  My favorite color is turquoise and my favorite animal is the cow.  The foods that I like best are nance fruit and caldo (traditional soup).  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Ingrid Liliana Estrella Ajqui

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary