Maylin Camila Roldan Ovando
Ref# JT2551

About Me
My name is Maylin Camila Roldan Ovando. I'm 9 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 28, 2010.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2551

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua.  It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry).  Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only two out of ten children finishes high school.  Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Maylin Camila Roldan Ovando.  I was born on November 28, 2010 and I am eight years old.  I am basically a healthy little girl.  My father’s name is Edwin, but unfortunately, he and my mother separated about seven years ago.  We have not heard from him since he left home.  My mother’s name is Norma and she is actually a single mother.  She has been both father and mother to me.  She is the one who works to provide for us.  She washes and irons clothes for other people.  My mother has actually had two husbands but is not living with either of them now. Currently, my she suffers from diabetes, but she has not been to the doctor nor does she take medicine because of our economic situation. My grandmother lives with us and also helps us with our expenses.  She works as a domestic employee.  I have one step-brother and one step-sister.  We do not own the place in which we live, nor do we pay rent because my mother and grandmother take care of the property for the owner.  The house is made of cement block with a tin roof and concrete floor.  We have one big room and all of us sleep together in the same room.  It is a little uncomfortable, but it is what we have.  We have a separate kitchen.  I am in the 2nd grade and when I am not in school, I like to play tag and other games with my siblings.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the dog.  The food that I like to eat the most is hamburgers.  My family does not attend church regularly, but we do attend the monthly dinners at Liberty Church Jocotenango.

With much love and many blessings,

Maylin Camily Roldan Ovando

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary