Hugo Rafael Sanchez Ochoa
Ref# NE2404

About Me
My name is Hugo Rafael Sanchez Ochoa. I'm a 11-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 6, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

NE2404

Zona 5, where your child lives, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump. Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard. Zone 5 is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City. It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers.  Robberies and murders are common in this area. Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it. Life in Zone 5 is very difficult.

Hello! My name is Hugo Rafael Sanchez Ochoa. I was born on May 6, 2008 and I am 10 years old.  I am in basically good health and I attend the Zone 5 feeding program. My father’s name is Victor Hugo Sanchez Ramiez, but he does not live with us. He left and since August of last year we have not seen him nor has he helped us financially. My mother´s name is Joselin Lilibeth Ochoa Estrada and she works as a food vendor in the market. She sells french fries. It is very difficult for my mother to buy all the things that I need such as my school uniform and other needs. She has started the legal process to try and get support from my father for my expenses. The church where we attend has helped us with a few of my school supplies. Since my father left, I suffer from trouble with anxiety. I visited the hospital also and the doctors told me that I have to control myself. When I get excited, I get very nervous, but I am going to the Living Water Clinic to seek treatment for this. We rent the house in which we live. It has one room and a small separate kitchen. The house is made of cement block with a tin roof and a granite tile floor. We have electricity and running water. I have 2 sisters. I am in the 5th grade. When I am not in school, I enjoy playing ball, playing video games and riding my skateboard. My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the monkey. The food that I like to eat the most is fish. My family attends a church called “House of Prayer.”

With much love and many blessings,

Hugo Rafael Sanchez Ochoa

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary