Maria Estela


Gender Female
Birth Date Jun 25, 2012
Age 6 years old
Attends Program
Chuchuc√°
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

CA1663

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello! My name is Maria Estela Coj Barrera. I was born on June 25, 2012. I am six years old. I attend the feeding program in Chuchuca. My father’s name is Adan Coj Riz and my mother’s name is Celsa Barrera Morente. I have one brother and three sisters. I attend Assembly of God Church. I am not in school. My favorite color is red. My favorite animal is the duck. I love to eat fried chicken and my favorite fruit is the banana. My father works as a day laborer. He plants corn, beans, and collects firewood. My mother does the chores at home and weaves typical blouses to sell. Our house is made from adobe. The roof is tile and granite floor. I will start school next year. Our home has two bedrooms and a kitchen. We raises domestic animals to sell. We have two cows, two pigs, turkeys, doves, ducks and hens. We do not travel to the coast to work. I attend the feeding program with my siblings.

Blessings,

Maria Estela Coj Barrera

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00