Deisy Paola Luis Barrera
Ref# TU2836

About Me
My name is Deisy Paola Luis Barrera. I'm a 14-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 15, 2005.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Tunajá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

TU- 2836

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala. The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché. The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it. Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

Hello! My name is Deisy Paola Luis Barrera. I was born on May 15, 2005. I am thirteen years old. I attend the Tunaja feeding program. My father’s name is Jose Luis De La Cruz. My mother’s name is Rosa Barrera Velasco. I have one brother and one sister. My family and I do not attend church. I like to play ball and tag. I like to watch television. My favorite food is fried chicken and my favorite fruit is an apple. My favorite color is black and my favorite animal is the dog. We do not have our own home. We live in my grandmother’s house. We do not pay for rent. Our home is made from adobe, has a tile roof, and a cement floor. It has two rooms, a separate kitchen and a bathroom. We have water and electricity. My mother takes care of our home and weaves typical items to sell. My father works as a farmer. Sometimes, he goes to the coast to cut coffee. I attend the feeding program with my siblings. We have chickens and a dog. My grandmother lives with us.

Blessings,
Deisy Paola Luis Barrera

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary