Fredy Antonio Pu Barrera
Ref# JT2514

About Me
My name is Fredy Antonio Pu Barrera. I'm a 14-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 18, 2005.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2514 

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs. 

Hello, my name is Fredy Antonio Pu Barrera. I was born on April 8, 2005 and I am 14 years old. I suffer from convulsions but I have been taken to the public hospital and I am stable now. I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Armando Pu Ixcotoyac, and he works selling nuts in the streets of different areas such as Antigua, Guatemala City, Panajachel and Peten. My mother’s name is Marta Barrera Tayum and she works by doing washing and ironing for other people. My family originally lived in the mountains of Quiche, Guatemala. We rent one room in a building, and we actually cook in the hall. Our house is made of cement block with a tin roof and cement floor. We live on the second level of the building. We have electricity and water. I walk for about 20 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have 4 sisters. I have never gone to school. My favorite thing to do is to play ball.  My favorite color is green, and my favorite animal is the deer. The food that I like to eat the most is chicken soup. Currently, my family does not attend a church. 

 

With much love and many blessings,

Fredy Antonio Pu Barrera

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary